The First NBA Awards Show: Will Your Player Win?

Looking into the summer, the first ever NBA awards show will announce some prestigious awards like the MVP, Rookie of the Year, Sixth Man of the Year, and Defensive Player of the Year. Drake will host the event full of NBA superstars, so you know it will be a good show.
Here are my prediction for these prestigious awards:
First, the Rookie of the Year should go to Joel Embiid. Even though he only played 31 games, he made a huge impact with averages of 20.2 points and 7.8 rebounds in only 25.4 minutes of playing time. Embiid’s amusing offbeat personality was infectious to the team and helped the 76ers overachieve in the games he was in. Embiid showed the NBA, and most importantly the city of Philly, that he is indeed the future of the 76ers.
Photo found @nbaallaccess
Next, the Sixth Man of the Year award has to go to Eric Gordon of the Houston Rockets. He averaged 16.6 PPG and 38.6% from beyond the arc on the the Rockets who shot the most threes of any team in the NBA. Eric Gordon, the 2017 3pt Contest Winner, came off the bench to attempt 8.8 threes and made 3.3 of them. Gordon’s stellar three point shooting was apart of the reason the rockets offense was so deadly.
Photo found @spurs_nation
The Defensive Player of the Year WILL go to Kawhi Leonard of the San Antonio Spurs. Leonard averaged 1.8 steals per game and 0.8 blocks per game this year but to truly know how great defensively he is you have to watch him. He also has more career steals than fouls which is extremely rare. Leonard also consistently guards the best player on the other team. Whether it be LeBron James or Kevin Durant, Leonard is always the primary defender. Other defensive player of the year candidates are Rudy Gobert and Draymond Green. Though they can only guard a few positions, while Leonard can guard all five. Leonard’s defensive versatility is what makes him an ELITE defender. Leonard is looking to win the DPOTY for the 3rd straight year.
Photo found @russwest44
Last, but certainly not least, The Most Valuable Player Award. Is there even a doubt? The MVP has to go to Russell Westbrook of the Oklahoma City Thunder. Westbrook has put up historical numbers this season averaging a triple double for the first time since Oscar Robertson in the 1961-62 season. In the 60s the NBA was a lot less physical and the players were a lot less athletic. So to achieve this now is even more impressive than is was then. Westbrook also led a team of role players to a 47-35 record and the sixth seed in the Western Conference. Despite their excellent season, the Thunder lost in the first round of the playoffs in five games to the favorite Houston Rockets and MVP candidate, James Harden. Even in defeat Westbrook averaged 37.4 PPG, 11.6 RPG, and 10.8 APG. Those are indeed MVP numbers.
Some of the best players in the NBA will be recognized for their magnificent seasons and will be given some special awards that very few players receive.
Tune in to see the first ever NBA awards show on Monday, June 26th on TNT.